We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)
    •   [sample email]
    •   [sample email]
    •   [sample email]
  • If you submit this form, The Liberal Democrats will use your contact details to send you information on the topics you have requested. Any data we gather will be used in accordance with our privacy policy at hsld.org.uk/en/privacy. To exercise your legal data rights, email: data.protection@libdems.org.uk.

HSLD Committee Elections Contested

October 1, 2019 2:00 PM
By Kay Kirkham

For the first time in the history of Humanist & Secularist Liberal Democrats, our Annual General Meeting has resulted in contested elections.

  • Vera Head was re-elected unopposed as Vice-Chair.
  • Kay Kirkham was re-elected unopposed as Secretary.
  • Alastair Lichten was elected unopposed as Treasurer, taking over from Richard Flowers.

There was no candidate for Membership Secretary.

There are

  • two candidates for Chair: Adrian Hyyrylainen-Trett and Toby Keynes.
  • five candidates for the four Ordinary Member places: Richard Flowers, Jim Forrest, Adrian Hyyrylainen-Trett, Eimear O'Casey and Sue Vincent.

A candidate may stand for more than one position, but can only be elected to one.

There will now be a postal ballot of all current HSLD members.

All current HSLD members were sent an email notice of the contested election on 26th September, and ballot papers are expected to go out this week, for the contested positions.

The results are expected at the end of this month.

Adrian is also standing in the Federal Party elections for Federal Board and Party President.

Toby is also standing for Federal Conference Committee.